Télévision Française 1 (TF1)

The transmission of The New Avengers in France was relatively straightforward compared to the schedule in some other countries. However, in an unusual move for the time, TF1 elected to show four Series 1 episodes over the Christmas/New Year period in December 1976, with The New Avengers being shown on Tuesdays and Thursdays, before settling into a weekly pattern on Saturdays from 8th January 1977. It should be noted that this guide varies from those previously established online. It has become clear that some of the information presented elsewhere is not accurate, even down to the actual broadcast dates of two Series 1 episodes and eight Series 2 episodes.

 The New Avengers – Series 1

No. Title Television Transmissions (France)
138 The Last of the Cybernauts...?? Tuesday 21st December 1976, 8.30pm (TF1)
139 Target! (i) Thursday 23rd December 1976, 8.30pm (TF1)
140 The Midas Touch Tuesday 28th December 1976, 8.30pm (TF1)
141 House of Cards (ii) Thursday 30th December 1976, 8.30pm (TF1)
142 Cat Amongst the Pigeons Saturday 8th January 1977, 9.35pm (TF1)
143 To Catch a Rat Saturday 15th January 1977, 9.32pm (TF1)
144 The Eagle's Nest Saturday 22nd January 1977, 9.47pm (TF1)
145 The Tale of the Big Why Saturday 29th January 1977, 9.32pm (TF1)
146 Three Handed Game Saturday 5th February 1977, 9.35pm (TF1)
147 Faces Saturday 12th February 1977, 9.32pm (TF1)
148 Sleeper Saturday 19th February 1977, 9.47pm (TF1)
149 Gnaws Saturday 26th February 1977, 9.32pm (TF1)
150 Dirtier by the Dozen Saturday 5th March 1977, 9.45pm (TF1)

 The New Avengers – Series 2

No. Title Television Transmissions (France)
151 Hostage Saturday 16th June 1979, 9.38pm (TF1)
152 Trap Saturday 23rd June 1979, 9.38pm (TF1)
153 Dead Men Are Dangerous Saturday 30th June 1979, 9.38pm (TF1)
154 Medium Rare (iii) Saturday 7th July 1979, 9.42pm (TF1)
155 Obsession Saturday 14th July 1979, 9.38pm (TF1)
156 Angels of Death Saturday 21st July 1979, 9.38pm (TF1)
157 The Lion and the Unicorn Saturday 28th July 1979, 9.38pm (TF1)
158 K is for Kill – Part One:
The Tiger Awakes
Saturday 4th August 1979, 9.37pm (TF1)
159 K is for Kill – Part Two:
Tiger by the Tail
Saturday 11th August 1979, 9.38pm (TF1)
160 Complex Saturday 18th August 1979, 9.32pm (TF1)
161 Emily (iii) Saturday 25th August 1979, 9.35pm (TF1)
162 Forward Base Saturday 1st September 1979, 9.43pm (TF1)
163 The Gladiators Saturday 8th September 1979, 9.42pm (TF1)

(i) Other online sources state that this episode aired on Christmas Day, 25th December 1976. This has been proved to be inaccurate when checking with our press sources.

(ii) Other online sources state that this episode aired on New Year's Day, 1st January 1977. This has been proved to be inaccurate when checking with our press sources.

(iii) Other online sources state that the eight episodes from Medium Rare to Emily were aired on Friday nights (6th July to 24th August 1979), whereas in actual fact, they were transmitted on Saturday nights (7th July to 25th August 1979). This information has been confirmed in our press sources.

Researched and compiled by Denis Kirsanov of Steedumbrella
and Alan Hayes of The Avengers Declassified

with thanks to Denis Chauvet of Le Monde des Avengers

Research Sources for French Research (The Avengers / The New Avengers):
Le Temps, L'Express and L'Impartial

Back to International PremieresForward to Greece

Back to Top