FS1 had launched originally as Österreichischer Rundfunk (ORF) in 1955, the name meaning simply 'Austrian broadcasting'. The channel was rebranded FS1 at the beginning of 1967 and continued with this name until 1992, when it reverted to the original ORF.

 The Avengers – Series 4

No. Title Television Transmissions (Austria)


1 The Cybernauts Tuesday 4th July 1967, 6.35pm (FS1)
2 Silent Dust Tuesday 11th July 1967, 6.35pm (FS1)
3 Two's a Crowd Tuesday 18th July 1967, 6.35pm (FS1)
4 Dial a Deadly Number Tuesday 25th July 1967, 6.35pm (FS1)
5 The Town of No Return Tuesday 1st August 1967, 6.35pm (FS1)
6 Castle De'ath Tuesday 8th August 1967, 6.35pm (FS1)
7 Quick-Quick Slow Death Monday 21st August 1967, 8.15pm (FS1)
8 The Gravediggers Monday 4th September 1967, 8.15pm (FS1)
9 The Master Minds Monday 18th September 1967, 8.15pm (FS1)
10 The Thirteenth Hole Monday 2nd October 1967, 8.15pm (FS1)
11 Death at Bargain Prices Monday 16th October 1967, 8.15pm (FS1)
12 Small Game for Big Hunters Monday 30th October 1967, 8.15pm (FS1)
13 What the Butler Saw Monday 13th November 1967, 8.15pm (FS1)
14 Honey for the Prince Monday 27th November 1967, 8.15pm (FS1)
15 The Danger Makers Monday 11th December 1967, 8.15pm (FS1)
16 A Sense of History Monday 22nd January 1967, 8.15pm (FS1)
17 Room Without A View Monday 5th February 1967, 8.15pm (FS1)
Break in transmission
No further episodes shown until Tuesday 23rd December 1997
18 Too Many Christmas Trees Tuesday 23rd December 1997 (ORF)
The Murder Market Episode transmissions not yet found
A Surfeit of H2O
Man-Eater of Surrey Green
The Hour That Never Was
The Girl from Auntie
A Touch of Brimstone
The House That Jack Built
How to Succeed... at Murder

 The Avengers – Series 5

No. Title Television Transmissions (Austria)


19 The Bird Who Knew Too Much Monday 19th February 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
20 The Living Dead Monday 4th March 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
21 Escape in Time Monday 18th March 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
22 The Correct Way to Kill Monday 1st April 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
23 Never, Never Say Die Monday 6th May 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
24 The See-Through Man Monday 20th May 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
Break in transmission
No further episodes shown until Monday 24th June 1968 (i)
25 The Fear Merchants Monday 24th June 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
26 A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Station Monday 8th July 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
27 Return of the Cybernauts Monday 22nd July 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
28 The Superlative Seven Monday 5th August 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
29 Mission... Highly Improbable Monday 19th August 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
30 The Joker Monday 2nd September 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
31 Something Nasty in the Nursery Monday 16th September 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
32 Who's Who ??? Monday 30th September 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
33 The Hidden Tiger Monday 14th October 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
34 Epic Monday 28th October 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
35 You Have Just Been Murdered Monday 11th November 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
36 Dead Man's Treasure Monday 25th November 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
37 From Venus with Love Monday 9th December 1968, 8.15pm (FS1)
Death's Door Episode transmissions not yet found
The £50,000 Breakfast
The Positive Negative Man
The Winged Avenger

(i) The Hidden Tiger was scheduled for transmission on Monday 10th June 1968, but no episode was shown. It would be screened later on Monday 14th October 1968.

Researched and compiled by Denis Kirsanov of Steedumbrella
and Alan Hayes of The Avengers Declassified

Research Sources for Austrian Research (The Avengers / The New Avengers):
Die Arbeiter-Zeitung

Back to International PremieresForward to Belgium

Back to Top